Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas 

Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas

The Overdose Response Strategy is an unprecedented and unique collaboration between public health and public safety, created to help local communities reduce drug overdoses and save lives by sharing timely data, pertinent intelligence and innovative strategies.

The ORS is implemented by state teams made up of Drug Intelligence Officers and Public Health Analysts, who work together on drug overdose issues within and across sectors and states. By sharing information across sectors, the ORS is growing the body of evidence related to early warning signs and prevention strategies. With the information shared, and programs inspired by the ORS, we are helping communities and individuals make healthier, safer choices.

The mission of the Overdose Response Strategy is to help communities reduce fatal and non-fatal drug overdoses by connecting public health and public safety agencies, sharing information, and supporting evidence-based interventions.

ORS Cornerstone Projects

Each year, the ORS conducts an initiative-wide Cornerstone Project. These projects mobilize the entire ORS to answer common questions or address shared informational needs that affect the ORS region as a whole. These projects focus on a different priority topic each year and build upon evidence-based practices to reduce overdose. ORS Cornerstone Projects so far have examined: the presence and status of fentanyl and fentanyl analogs in ORS states (2016); law enforcement knowledge, understanding and perceptions of 911 Good Samaritan laws (2017); promising strategies for implementing linkages to care at the nexus of public health and public safety (2018); and overdose prevention in jails (2019).


ORS Pilot Projects

To build this evidence base for promising practices in opioid overdose prevention, CDC and the National Association of City and County Health Officials (NACCHO) are working with several ORS states to develop and implement local projects designed to reduce overdoses. CDC provides technical support to these high need areas and works with HIDTA Directors and ORS State Teams to ensure that the pilot projects are smoothly implemented and that their progress and impact are monitored effectively.



State Drug Intelligence Officer (DIO) Public Health Analyst (PHA)

Arizona

Randy Moffitt
rmoffitt@azhidta.org
928-284-8899
Sydney Fox
sfox@azhidta.org
404-263-1159

California

LOS ANGELES:
Eric Deroian
eric.deroian@la.hidta.net
562-292-0757

NORTHERN CALIFORNIA:
Mark Karandang
mkarandang@ncric.ca.gov
628-255-8871
No PHA positions

Connecticut

Bobby Lawlor
rlawlor@nehidta.org
203-379-6517
Anna Gasinski
agasinski@nehidta.org
203-623-4716

Delaware

Glenn Condon
condong@lmahidta.org
267-331-1059
Tim Hulings
hulingst@lmahidta.org
302-270-3227

District of Columbia

TBD TBD

Florida

CENTRAL FLORIDA:
Paul Maxwell
pmaxwell@cfhidta.org
305-769-9803

NORTH FLORIDA:
Scott Delano
sdelano@nfhidta.org
904-233-9333

SOUTH FLORIDA:
Gary Grimm
gfgrimm@sflhidta.org
305-986-9293
Deborah Babin
dbabin@nfhidta.org
904-416-4391

Georgia

Armando Roche
aroche@achidta.org
404-587-1454
Katy Freund
706-254-3233
kfreund@achidta.org

Hawaii

Rico Witt
rwitt@hi-hidta.org
808-237-9998
No PHA position

Illinois

Vic Markowski
v.markowski@chicago-hidta.org
312-414-9442
Lindsay Wilson
lindsay.wilson@chicago-hidta.org
256-225-3618

Indiana

Robert Glynn
rglynn@indiana-hidta.org
312-296-6361
Meredith Canada
mcanada@indiana-hidta.org
317-416-4926

Iowa

Kevin Winker
kwinker@midwest-hidta.org
515-975-9310
No PHA position

Kansas

Todd Hixson
THixson@midwest-hidta.org
913-967-9156
No PHA Position

Kentucky

Greg Cox
coxg@ahidta.org
606-416-3979
Ellen Lycan
ellen.lycan@uky.edu
404-242-1426

Louisiana

TBD Sage Teasley
Sage.teasley@la.gov
919-798-7741

Maine

Jim Minkowsky
james.minkowsky@maine.gov
978-802-0067
John Lipovsky
john.lipovsky@maine.gov
612-859-4996

Maryland

TBD TBD

Massachusetts

Jim Cormier
jcormier@nehidta.org
978-697-2917
Amanda Consigli
aconsigli@nehidta.org
503-781-4110

Michigan

Bob Kerr
rkerr@mi.hidta.net
248-728-3701
Emily Godfrey
egodfrey@mi.hidta.net
616-617-4147

Minnesota

Lindsey Bartholdi
lbartholdi@northcentralhidta.org
612-358-3023
Hayley McCarron
hmccarron@northcentralhidta.org
404-791-4220

Mississippi

Stacy Miller
millera@gchidta.org
228-697-1744
No PHA position

Missouri

Van Godsey
vgodsey@midwest-hidta.org
573-291-1441
Karen Wallace
kwallace@midwest-hidta.org
404-242-9419

Nevada

Christine Payson
cpayson@lvmpd.com
702-343-1803
Lacey Alderson
lalderson@lvmpd.com
725-229-2658

New Hampshire

Ken Bradley
kbradley@nehidta.org
978-802-0366
Kiera Latham
klatham@nehidta.org
503-729-9382

New Jersey

Don Ciaccio
dciaccio@nynjhidta.org
917-748-0165
Nava Bastola
nava.bastola@doh.nj.gov
609-202-4091

New Mexico

Mark Scroggins
mscroggins@nmhidta.org
505-250-5517
TBD

New York

Bill Murphy
wmurphy@nynjhidta.org
518-429-9340
Nicole D'Anna
nicole.danna@health.ny.gov
518-474-9126

North Carolina

Eddie McCormack
emccormack@achidta.org
919-449-8573
Sherani Jagroep
sherani.jagroep@dhhs.nc.gov
919-986-8385

North Dakota

Carter Oster
ccoster@nd.gov
507-219-2981
No PHA position

Ohio

Shawn Bain
shawn.bain@ohiohidta.org
614-506-2158
Orman Hall
orman.hall@ohiohidta.org
740-243-8412

Oklahoma

Mike Hoskins
Mike.Hoskins@texomahidta.org
405-426-2360
No PHA position

Oregon

Tiffany Hicks
thicks@dpsst.state.or.us
‭503-507-8062‬
Erin Porter
erin.porter@state.or.us
971-372-0274

Pennsylvania

Van Jackson
jacksonv@lmahidta.org
267-303-6850
Tamar Wallace
wallacet@lmahidta.org
585-766-3388

Rhode Island

Bryan Volpe
bvolpe@nehidta.org
978-802-0514
Tom Chadronet
tchadronet@nehidta.org
978-802-0661

South Carolina

John Saager
jsaager@achidta.org
770-715-2163
Christina Galardi
galardcm@dhec.sc.gov
803-767-9731

Tennessee

Greg Roberts
robertsg@ahidta.org
865-223-3804
Michele Trofatter
michele.trofatter@knoxcounty.org
404-245-5598

Texas

HOUSTON HIDTA:
Wendell Campbell
wcampbell@houstonhidta.net

SOUTH TEXAS HIDTA:
Fred Delgado
fdelgado@stxhidta.net
210-784-6442

TEXOMA HIDTA:
Steven Toth
steven.toth@texomahidta.org
972-374-4830
NO PHA Positions

Utah

Bill Newell
billnewell@utah.gov
801-231-7331
Steve Barnes
VIPPCDCFSB1@utah.gov
385-303-5341

Vermont

James Downes
jdownes@nehidta.org
978-802-0753
Stephanie Thompson
sthompson@nehidta.org
404-395-3618

Virginia

Ed Bane
cebane@wb.hidta.org
703-675-3711
Ali Burrell
aburrell@wb.hidta.org
904-947-7385

Washington

Mark Gosling
mgosling@nw.hidta.org
206-697-2432
Eliza Powell
epowell@nw.hidta.org
206-697-2485

West Virginia

Bill Winkler
winklerb@ahidta.org
304-741-7403
Yolanda Sowards
Yolanda.k.sowards@wv.gov
304-433-4412

Wisconsin

Jim Macgilis
jmacgillis@northcentralhidta.org
414-238-1198
Paige Andrews
pandrews@northcentralhidta.org
404-245-2077