Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas 

Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas

The Overdose Response Strategy (ORS) is an unprecedented and unique collaboration between public health and public safety, created to help local communities reduce drug overdoses and save lives by sharing timely data, pertinent intelligence and evidence-based and innovative strategies.

The ORS is implemented by state teams made up of Drug Intelligence Officers and Public Health Analysts, who work together on drug overdose issues within and across sectors, states, and territories. By sharing information across sectors, the ORS is growing the body of evidence related to early warning signs and prevention strategies. With the information shared, and programs inspired by the ORS, we are helping communities and individuals make healthier, safer choices. As of July 2021, there are ORS Public Health Analyst (PHA) and Drug Intelligence Officer (DIO) positions in 50 states, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The mission of the ORS is to help communities reduce fatal and non-fatal drug overdoses by connecting public health and public safety agencies, sharing information, and supporting evidence-based interventions.

ORS Cornerstone Projects

Each year, the ORS conducts an initiative-wide Cornerstone Project. These projects mobilize the entire ORS to answer common questions or address shared informational needs that affect the ORS region as a whole. These projects focus on a different priority topic each year and build upon evidence-based practices to reduce overdose. ORS Cornerstone Projects so far have examined: the presence and status of fentanyl and fentanyl analogs in ORS jurisdictions states (2016); law enforcement knowledge, understanding and perceptions of 911 Good Samaritan laws (2017); promising strategies for implementing linkages to care at the nexus of public health and public safety (2018); and overdose prevention in jails (2019). The Cornerstone project in 2021 is ongoing and will review public safety, public health, and harm reduction resources on stimulants.


ORS Pilot Projects

To build this evidence base for promising practices in opioid overdose prevention, CDC and the National Association of City and County Health Officials (NACCHO) are working with several ORS jurisdictions states to develop and implement local projects designed to reduce overdoses. CDC provides technical support to these high need areas and works with HIDTA Directors and ORS State Teams to ensure that the pilot projects are smoothly implemented and that their progress and impact are monitored effectively.



State Drug Intelligence Officer (DIO) Public Health Analyst (PHA)

Alabama

Doug Poole
PooleD@gchidta.org
703-477-7889
TBD

Alaska

Eva McElroy
eva.mcelroy@alaska.gov
907-795-9889
TBD

Arkansas

TBD TBD

Arizona

Randy Moffitt
rmoffitt@azhidta.org
928-284-8899
Sydney Fox
sfox@azhidta.org
404-263-1159

California

CENTRAL VALLEY:TBD

LOS ANGELES:
Eric Deroian
eric.deroian@la.hidta.net
562-292-0757

NORTHERN CALIFORNIA:
Mark Karandang
mkarandang@ncric.ca.gov
628-255-8871

SAN DIEGO:
Alex De Armas
Alex.DeArmas@sdi.hidta.org
619-876-9413
CENTRAL VALLEY:TBD



LOS ANGELES:TBD



NORTHERN CALIFORNIA: TBD



SAN DIEGO: TBD



Colorado

Sarah Hoke
shoke@rmhidta.org
303-671-2197
TBD

Connecticut

Bobby Lawlor
rlawlor@nehidta.org
203-379-6517
Anna Gasinski
agasinski@nehidta.org
203-623-4716

Delaware

Glenn Condon
condong@lmahidta.org
267-331-1059
Tim Hulings
hulingst@lmahidta.org
302-270-3227

District of Columbia

Ed Bane
cebane@wb.hidta.org
703-675-3711
TBD

Florida

CENTRAL FLORIDA:
Paul Maxwell
pmaxwell@cfhidta.org
305-769-9803

NORTH FLORIDA:
Scott Delano
sdelano@nfhidta.org
904-233-9333

SOUTH FLORIDA:
Gary Grimm
gfgrimm@sflhidta.org
305-986-9293
CENTRAL FLORIDA:TBD




NORTH FLORIDA:
Deborah Babin
dbabin@nfhidta.org
904-416-4391



SOUTH FLORIDA:TBD

Georgia

Armando Roche
aroche@achidta.org
404-587-1454
Katy Freund
706-254-3233
kfreund@achidta.org

Hawaii

Rico Witt
rwitt@hi-hidta.org
808-237-9998
TBD

Idaho

Kevin Hudgens
Kevin.Hudgens@isp.idaho.gov
208-573-4239
TBD

Illinois

Vic Markowski
v.markowski@chicago-hidta.org
312-414-9442
Lindsay Wilson
lindsay.wilson@chicago-hidta.org
256-225-3618

Indiana

Robert Glynn
rglynn@indiana-hidta.org
312-296-6361
Meredith Canada
mcanada@indiana-hidta.org
317-416-4926

Iowa

Kevin Winker
kwinker@midwest-hidta.org
515-975-9310
TBD

Kansas

Todd Hixson
THixson@midwest-hidta.org
913-967-9156
TBD

Kentucky

Greg Cox
coxg@ahidta.org
606-416-3979
Ellen Lycan
ellen.lycan@uky.edu
404-242-1426

Louisiana

Ken Bohac
BoHack@gchidta.org
571-362-4877
Sage Teasley
Sage.teasley@la.gov
919-798-7741

Maine

TBD John Lipovsky
john.lipovsky@maine.gov
612-859-4996

Maryland

John Flickinger
jflickinger@wb.hidta.org
716-544-3540
Leah Osae
losae@wb.hidta.org
580-495-8895

Massachusetts

Jim Cormier
jcormier@nehidta.org
978-697-2917
Amanda Consigli
aconsigli@nehidta.org
503-781-4110

Michigan

Bob Kerr
rkerr@mi.hidta.net
248-728-3701
Amanda Ballesteros
amandkog@med.umich.edu
734-647-7635

Emily Godfrey
egodfrey@mi.hidta.net
616-617-4147

Minnesota

Lindsey Bartholdi
lbartholdi@northcentralhidta.org
612-358-3023
Hayley McCarron
hmccarron@northcentralhidta.org
404-791-4220

Mississippi

Stacy Miller
millera@gchidta.org
228-697-1744
TBD

Missouri

Van Godsey
vgodsey@midwest-hidta.org
573-291-1441
Brenda Schell
BSchell@midwest-hidta.org
518-488-9389

Montana

Will Janisch
William.Janish@mt.gov
406-896-4390
TBD

Nebraska

Cheri Ivers
Cheri.Ivers@nebraska.gov
402-580-0312
TBD

Nevada

Christine Payson
cpayson@lvmpd.com
702-343-1803
Lacey Alderson
lalderson@lvmpd.com
725-229-2658

New Hampshire

Ken Bradley
kbradley@nehidta.org
978-802-0366
Kiera Latham
klatham@nehidta.org
503-729-9382

New Jersey

Don Ciaccio
dciaccio@nynjhidta.org
917-748-0165
TBD

New Mexico

Mark Scroggins
mscroggins@nmhidta.org
505-250-5517
Miranda Lopez
mlopez@nmhidta.org
484-630-3418

New York

Bill Murphy
wmurphy@nynjhidta.org
518-429-9340
Polly Faust
Polly.Faust@health.ny.gov
380-210-9392

North Carolina

Eddie McCormack
emccormack@achidta.org
919-449-8573
Sherani Jagroep
sherani.jagroep@dhhs.nc.gov
919-986-8385

North Dakota

Shannon Oberlin
soberlin@nd.gov
701-328-8178
TBD

Ohio

Shawn Bain
shawn.bain@ohiohidta.org
614-506-2158
TBD

Oklahoma

Mike Hoskins
Mike.Hoskins@texomahidta.org
405-426-2360
TBD

Oregon

Tiffany Hicks
thicks@dpsst.state.or.us
‭503-507-8062‬
Erin Porter
erin.porter@state.or.us
971-372-0274

Pennsylvania

Van Jackson
jacksonv@lmahidta.org
267-303-6850
Tamar Wallace
wallacet@lmahidta.org
585-766-3388

Puerto Rico

Jose Rodriguez
Jose.Rodriguez@prvihidta.org
787-600-7797
TBD

Rhode Island

Bryan Volpe
bvolpe@nehidta.org
978-802-0514
Tom Chadronet
tchadronet@nehidta.org
978-802-0661

South Carolina

John Saager
jsaager@achidta.org
770-715-2163
Christina Galardi
galardcm@dhec.sc.gov
803-767-9731

South Dakota

TBD TBD

Tennessee

Greg Roberts
robertsg@ahidta.org
865-223-3804
Michele Trofatter
michele.trofatter@knoxcounty.org
404-245-5598

Texas

HOUSTON HIDTA:
Wendell Campbell
wcampbell@houstonhidta.net

SOUTH TEXAS HIDTA:
Fred Delgado
fdelgado@stxhidta.net
210-784-6442

TEXOMA HIDTA:
Steven Toth
steven.toth@texomahidta.org
972-374-4830

WEST TEXAS HIDTA:
Gilbert Garza
ggarza@westtexashidta.org
915-730-6794
HOUSTON HIDTA:TBD



SOUTH TEXAS HIDTA:TBD




TEXOMA HIDTA:TBD




WEST TEXAS HIDTA:TBD




Utah

Bill Newell
billnewell@utah.gov
801-231-7331
Steve Barnes
VIPPCDCFSB1@utah.gov
385-303-5341

Vermont

James Downes
jdownes@nehidta.org
978-802-0753
Stephanie Thompson
sthompson@nehidta.org
404-395-3618

U.S Virgin Islands

Rodney Querrard
rquerrard@prvihidta.org
340-642-4364
TBD

Virginia

Ed Bane
cebane@wb.hidta.org
703-675-3711
TBD

Washington

TBD Eliza Powell
epowell@nw.hidta.org
206-697-2485

West Virginia

Bill Winkler
winklerb@ahidta.org
304-741-7403
Yolanda Sowards
Yolanda.k.sowards@wv.gov
304-433-4412

Wisconsin

Shaun Doyne
SDoyne@northcentralhidta.org
414-406-4679
Paige Andrews
pandrews@northcentralhidta.org
404-245-2077

Wyoming

Casey Patterson
casey.patterson@wyo.gov
307-220-2238
TBD