Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas 

Office of National Drug Control Policy

High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas

HIDTAprogram

Overdose Response Strategy

Investing in partnerships to build safe and healthy communities

OVERVIEW
The Overdose Response Strategy (ORS) is an initiative designed to enhance public healthpublic safety collaboration and to strengthen and improve efforts to reduce drug overdoses within 21 High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTAs) across 34 states.

With support from the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the ORS initiative supports innovation at the local, state, and regional level.

The mission of the ORS is to reduce fatal and non-fatal drug overdose rates by improving information sharing across agencies and supporting evidence-based interventions. The four strategic directions that shape the boundaries of the ORS are: law enforcement, response, treatment and recovery, and prevention.

STATE TEAMS
ORS State Teams are comprised of one Drug Intelligence Officer (DIO) and one Public Health Analyst (PHA). These teams form the foundation of the ORS. DIOs and PHAs are responsible for helping to increase communication, data flow, and intelligence sharing between public safety and public health sectors within and across ORS states.

LOCAL PILOT PROJECTS
To build this evidence base for promising practices in opioid overdose prevention, CDC and the National Association of City and County Health Officials (NACCHO) are working with several ORS states to develop and implement local projects designed to reduce overdoses. CDC provides technical support to these highneed areas and works with HIDTA Directors and ORS State Teams to ensure that the pilot projects are smoothly implemented and that their progress and impact are monitored effectively.

CORNERSTONE PROJECTS
Each year, the ORS conducts an initiative-wide Cornerstone Project. These projects mobilize the entire ORS to answer common questions or address shared informational needs that affect the ORS region as a whole. These projects focus on a different priority topic each year and build upon evidence-based practices to reduce overdose. ORS Cornerstone Projects so far have examined: the presence and status of fentanyl and fentanyl analogs in ORS states (2016); law enforcement knowledge, understanding and perceptions of 911 Good Samaritan laws (2017); promising trategies for implementing linkages to care at the nexus of public health and public safety (2018); and overdose prevention in jails (2019).

For more information about the ORS, please see: 2020 ORS Collaborations / ORS one-page overview / ORS Trifold brochure / Pilot Projects / 2018 Cornerstone Report

State Drug Intelligence Officer (DIO) Public Health Analyst (PHA)

Arizona

Randy Moffitt
rmoffitt@azhidta.org
928-284-8899
Sydney Fox
sfox@azhidta.org
404-263-1159

California

Eric Deroian
eric.deroian@la.hidta.net
562-292-0757
No PHA position

Connecticut

Bobby Lawlor
rlawlor@nehidta.org
203-379-6517
Sarah Ali
sali@nehidta.org
978-697-1182

Delaware

Glenn Condon
condong@lmahidta.org
267-331-1059
TBD

District of Columbia

Kevin Butts
kbutts@wb.hidta.org
443-790-3031
TBD

Florida

Scott Delono
sdelano@nfhidta.org
904-233-9333
Deborah Babin
dbabin@nfhidta.org
904-416-4391

Georgia

Armando Roche
aroche@achidta.org
404-587-1454
Katy Freund
kfreund@achidta.org
404-569-0810

Illinois

Vic Markowski
v.markowski@chicago-hidta.org
312-414-9442
Oscar Garduno
oscar.garduno@chicago-hidta.org
872-400-0805

Indiana

Robert Glynn
rglynn@indiana-hidta.org
312-296-6361
Meredith Canada
mcanada@indiana-hidta.org
317-416-4926

Kentucky

Greg Cox
coxg@ahidta.org
606-416-3979
Ellen Lycan
ellen.lycan@uky.edu
404-242-1426

Louisiana

TBD Kate Murphy
murphyk@gchidta.org
404-360-8533

Maine

Jim Minkowsky
james.minkowsky@maine.gov
978-802-0067
Rebecca Taylor
rtaylor@nehidta.org
978-802-0351

Maryland

Kevin Welkner
kwelkner@wb.hidta.org
443-789-2389
Lauren Whiteman
lwhiteman@wb.hidta.org
813-892-0229

Massachusetts

Jim Cormier
jcormier@nehidta.org
978-697-2917
Amanda Consigli
aconsigli@nehidta.org
802-377-5938

Michigan

Bob Kerr
rkerr@mi.hidta.net
734-777-0843
Amanda Kogowski
amandkog@med.umich.edu
734-647-7635

Minnesota

TBD TBD

Missouri

Van Godsey
vgodsey@midwest-hidta.org
573-291-1441
Karen Wallace
kwallace@midwest-hidta.org
404-242-9419

Nevada

Christine Payson
cpayson@lvmpd.com
702-343-1803
No PHA position

New Hampshire

Ken Bradley
kbradley@nehidta.org
978-802-0366
Kiera Latham
klatham@nehidta.org
978-802-0483

New Jersey

Don Ciaccio
dciaccio@nynjhidta.org
917-776-7070
Nava Bastola
nava.bastola@doh.nj.gov
347-949-0746

New Mexico

TBD Danielle Rittman
drittman@nmhidta.org
404-242-5699

New York

Bill Murphy
wmurphy@nynjhidta.org
518-429-9340
Nicole D'Anna
nicole.danna@health.ny.gov
518-474-9126

North Carolina

Scott Higginbotham
ahigginbotham@achidta.org
919-449-8573
Sherani Jagroep
sherani.jagroep@dhhs.nc.gov
919-986-8385

Ohio

Shawn Bain
shawn.bain@ohiohidta.org
614-506-2158
Orman Hall
orman.hall@ohiohidta.org
740-243-8412

Oregon

Tiffany Hicks
thicks@dpsst.state.or.us
‭503-507-8062‬
No PHA position

Pennsylvania

Van Jackson
jacksonv@lmahidta.org
267-303-6850
Tamar Wallace
wallacet@lmahidta.org
717-232-6400

Rhode Island

Bryan Volpe
bvolpe@nehidta.org
978-802-0514
Tom Chadronet
tchadronet@nehidta.org
978-802-0661

South Carolina

John Saager
jsaager@achidta.org
770-715-2163
Christina Galardi
galardcm@dhec.sc.gov
803-898-9150

Tennessee

Greg Roberts
robertsg@ahidta.org
865-223-3804
Michele Trofatter
michele.trofatter@knoxcounty.org
404-245-5598

Utah

TBD Steve Barnes
VIPPCDCFSB1@utah.gov
385-303-5341

Vermont

James Downes
jdownes@nehidta.org
978-802-0753
Stephanie Thompson
sthompson@nehidta.org
802-872-6185

Virginia

Ed Bane
cebane@wb.hidta.org
703-675-3711
Julia Mandeville
jmandeville@wb.hidta.org
443-936-5975

Washington

TBD No PHA position

West Virginia

Bill Winkler
winklerb@ahidta.org
304-741-7403
Yolanda Sowards
sowardsy@ahidta.org
304-308-0034

Wisconsin

Bill Krieg
wkrieg@northcentralhidta.org
414-238-1198
Paige Andrews, MS
pandrews@northcentralhidta.org
404-245-2077